The Lady Horologist

Inspiration from Vintage styles.

Burrow

Burrow     This piece was an experiment in a technique I learned from a ceramics class I took while in Sacramento. Polymer clay has a different consistency than regular clay. It is softer and more malleable, but doesn’t hold it’s shape as well. I really loved the ceramic face, from Firefly Design Studio, and wanted to do something unusual to accentuate it. So I decided to do the opposite of what I usually do… I twisted the clay first, then brushed on the gold leaf afterwards. I used the gold leaf as a glue to give it the strength needed to hold its shape. Not only did it work, but it gave the piece an ethnic look I hadn’t counted on. It is a bold, bigger-than-life piece, that is bound to draw attention to the person wearing it.

[ For Sale Here ]

About Shelly

Artist, co-founder of Artful Inclinations. Our website is artfulinclinations/shop/etsy.com and artfulinclinations.wordpress.com. Masters degree in human behavior/organizational psychology, Bachelors degree in Behavioral Science. Retired. Traveling full-time in an RV with my husband of 37 years.

Leave a Reply

