The Lady Horologist

Inspiration from Vintage styles.

Proportions

So while working on my tension with bead crochet bracelets I hit the problem of center pieces. I want to eventually make endless bangles but I have to work on my tension first. Instead of just wasting all the labor from practicing, however, I make them into finished bracelets. Now working with size 8/0 seed beads creates a thicker result that is a little out of my comfort zone. I’m having to work with larger beads as centerpieces as a result. The bracelets are 6mm wide and I find that several 6mm can stack and look good but other than that I need much larger beads. Sometimes it’s the proportions that make or break a piece. I know the reason why the 6mm beads only look good with several of them; the beadwork almost shrinks them and instead of looking like a centerpieces, they clash. I find 10mm beads make for a perfect single centerpiece. Anything much larger or smaller doesn’t stand out quite enough and adding any smaller beads with a 10mm also clashes and looks bulky instead of elegant.

I have to play with proportions a lot and I definitely suggest playing around if you too have problems with balancing proportions. Sometimes what you imagine will work doesn’t in reality. Sometimes you’ll get it the first time and sometimes you won’t.

Leave a Reply

